fbpx
skip to Main Content
514-286-0550 info@legault-dubois.ca
Do Not Fill The Weep Holes!

Do not fill the weep holes!

When an exterior wall cladding is made of masonry, such as brick, a 25 mm (1 “) air gap is provided behind it to prevent rainwater on the surface of the brick from coming into contact with the structure of the walls.

To allow drainage of water from the back of the siding and promote drying of this cavity, weep holes (openings) are intentionally created by leaving vertical joints without mortar every 800 mm (32 in) in the first row over the foundation wall, built-in balconies, windows and doors.

Understand your property better !

Visit our residential services and see how we can help to ensure the sustainability of your home!

These weep holes can also be made by inserting a plastic tube into the openings. The absence or the obstruction of weep holes promotes water infiltration inside the walls and may cause damages that are not always visible. 

To prevent this, it is recommended that the weep holes in the masonry joints are never blocked. In their absence, avoid creating them yourself and check with a licensed masonry contractor for the feasibility of such an operation. The back of the brick wall is composed of membranes and flashing that can be easily damaged when a mortar joint is drilled. If you have any doubts about the integrity of the internal components of the wall, contact the Legault-Dubois for a thorough investigation.

 

Back To Top

skip to Main Content
Ne Bouchez Pas Les Chantepleures!

Ne bouchez pas les chantepleures!

Lorsqu’un parement mural extérieur est composé de maçonnerie, comme la brique, un espace d’air de 25mm (1po) est aménagé derrière celui-ci afin d’empêcher l’eau de pluie à la surface du parement d’entrer en contact avec la structure des murs.

Connaissez mieux votre propriété !

Pour permettre l’évacuation de l’eau provenant de l’arrière du parement et favoriser l’assèchement de cette cavité, des chantepleures sont intentionnellement créées en laissant des joints verticaux sans mortier tous les 800 mm (32 po) dans le premier rang au-dessus de la fondation, des balcons encastrés, des fenêtres et des portes.

Ces chantepleures peuvent également être pratiquées en insérant un tube de plastique dans le joint.  L’absence ou l’obstruction de chantepleures peut donc favoriser l’infiltration d’eau à l’intérieur des murs et occasionner des dommages qui ne sont pas toujours visibles. 

Afin de prévenir cette situation, il est recommandé de ne jamais boucher les ouvertures présentes dans les joints de maçonnerie.  En leur absence, évitez de créer vous-même des chantepleures et vérifiez auprès d’un entrepreneur licencié en maçonnerie la faisabilité d’une telle opération.  L’arrière du parement est composé de membranes et solins qui peuvent être facilement abimés lors du percement du joint de mortier.  Si vous avez des doutes sur l’intégrité des composantes internes du mur, contactez le département de résolution de problème de Legault-Dubois afin d’obtenir une investigation approfondie.

Back To Top